Re: 22 Examples of Thin Privilege

What is thin privilege?

According to thisisthinprivilege.org thin privilege is a privilege that thin people have because they’re not fat and such privilege goes away once you get fat. But no all fat people feel it the same because some people are fatter than other and less fat you’re the more privilege you have.

From their FAQ section:

Thin privilege systematically reduces each of us to our dress size, hip measurement, and waist size, then grants favors, opportunities, or simple lack of punishment when the numbers are low enough.

Remember, dress sizes are not useful and if you steal and are thin you don’t get punishment.

When you have thin privilege it doesn’t mean that your individual experience of being thin is necessarily positive, or that you haven’t been called names or discriminated against. It also doesn’t mean that every single fat person feels stigma as keenly as another. Some fat people might have grown up with supportive families in supportive environments and never encountered the kinds of fat stigma other people encounter.

And from another part of FAQ:

The spectrum part means that though Suzie might be fat, she could have more thin privilege than fatter Georgia, and less thin privilege than thinner Maria. The contextual part means that within certain communities people who would be considered thin in other communities might be subject to some kinds of fat discrimination.

Unlike being white, male or heterosexual, this is a privilege you can get rid of because once you get fat puff it’s gone and now you don’t have that privilege. You’ll ruin your health while doing it, but that doesn’t matter am I right?

But allow me to clear something out, everyone has a different healthy weight depending on our bodies. Mine is between 54kgs and 62kgs, more or less. Other people I know have different healthy weights and I’m not taking that down. If your wealthy weight is 70kgs or if your medication, health issues or genetics don’t allow you get any thinner, I don’t have anything against you. Some people just can’t do it and I understand that.
What I take a beef with is people trying to make me think that being fat is good and has no side effects whatsoever. It’s like a smoker who keeps smoking even after the doctor told him he has/will have lung cancer. There is a reason why doctors are doctors.

But, what are examples of this so-called thin privilege? Well, this where Everyday Feminism comes in, with their list of 22 examples of thin privilege.
Let’s take a look at it.

Through mass media, we’ve been bombarded with messages that the “normal” size is actually thin. And this assumption that you need to be thin in order to be okay and normal gets played out frequently for people who are bigger than “normal”.

That’s the intro of the list pretty much, and it’s something that I’ve already addressed. Everyone has a different “normal” weight (because size makes it so strange to me, reminds me of clothes and shoes that sound even worse to me) and that’s the weight recommended for your body to function normally. Of course, you don’t have to have that weight, but having it diminishes the possibilities of heart or bone issues and being thin makes things like giving birth easier.

If you’ve been a “normal” size your whole life, you may never have thought of the benefits of being thin.

Aside from being able to walk, have fun with my puppy and fit into door frames? Maybe I didn’t.

1. You’re not assumed to be unhealthy just because of your size.

Actually, it depends on how thin you’re. If your too thin people will think you do not eat enough and will get worried if you’re entering the fine line between being healthy and being anorexic.

If you don’t know what anorexia is, allow me.
Anorexia nervosa is an eating disorder characterized by low weight, fear of gaining weight and eating very little. Many people who suffer from it see themselves as overweight or think they have an unhealthy weight while, in fact, they’re underweight. Usually, it is related to activities that require a thin body such as modeling and dancing, but it can also be related to people who simply want to be thin or so-called health nuts. However, sportsmen can also be affected by it.
Anorexia is, usually, triggered by a stressful event.

That’s only a resume, but this an illness people are worried about and that people look for, especially in young women who think to be thin will slove all their problems (generalization, I know, but I’ve dealt with more than a few cases like that while in middle and high school) or are extremely stressed. While, the idealization of the human body is a cause of anorexia, taking the route of promoting excessive weight isn’t the answer to this problem. You’ll create another one: the world where everyone wants to to be fat and thin is not accepted.

2. Your size is probably not the first thing people notice about you (unless you’re being thin-shamed – the opposite of fat-shamed).

In a world where everyone wants to have a desirable weight and with the current obesity epidemic, it’s not hard to get noticed because you’re thin. I know that this might sound like a privilege but when you’re about 59kgs it’s not uncommon to have people coming to you and telling how envious they’re of you because you can keep yourself thin.
No, I do not wear small sizes. I have big hips and legs and jeans are very small to me, I have to resort to bigger sizes because they simply do not fit me. Remember how much I weight? 59kgs. Still, people are envious of my body because I won the genetic lottery that allows me to keep this weight. It’s not exactly good to have envious eyes looking at you because you’re thin, even from other people who look thin.
You’re being shamed, but people are getting envious of you. Neither of them are poisons I would like to pick.

3. When you’re at the grocery store, people don’t comment on the food selection in your cart in the name of “trying to be helpful.”

I’m going to use this point to address something called education.

A lot of us lack an eating education. In school, I was taught that I should eat more greens, fruits, and white meat if I want to stay healthy. At home, I was used to do these things. Eat healthily, don’t eat too much junk food, etc. And when I talk to other people, I see a reflection of that. Most people my age or younger don’t like fruits. Every day, before lunch, I sit my grandmother and we share a fruit. Cherries, peaches, apples, whatever is in season. I feel good doing it because it tastes as good as any junk food, but others were not used to doing this. It’s very sad and bad when all you’re able to eat is pizzas and chips.

If I may be honest, it confuses me to see people ruin themselves with food. I know that this entails a lack of self-love and depression but I don’t understand how someone can love themselves knowing that they’re dooming their bodies to oblivion.
Being thin isn’t easy, you must exercise and eat right to keep that weight. You don’t throw yourself in front of ice cream and hope your body doesn’t react to it. I don’t understand the logic of not caring about useful advice, although I understand noisy people. They’re annoying.

4. Your health insurance rates are not higher than everyone else’s.

I don’t have a health insurance. You’re not required to have one in Portugal. BUT I did have to play 2.500 euros to fix my jaw because of it. I cry every time.
The reason why the insurance rates are higher for fat people is easy to understand, they have more health issues and have a higher risk of dying and insurances don’t want to cover that.

5. You can expect to pay reasonable prices for your clothing.

giphy

Do you think 19 euros is reasonable for half a t-shirt that will last for a year? Because I don’t.

6. You can expect to find your clothing size sold locally.

Barely, as I’ve said before. Just barely.

7. You can expect to find clothing in the latest styles and colors instead of colorless, shapeless and outdated styles meant to hide your body.

Don’t speak crap about retro! Retro and vintage clothes are awesome and I wish I could wear more.

But honestly these are kinda cute:

img_2248

I would use that. But hey, you can’t always buy clothes online, right?

But on a more serious note, I do find most women’s clothes ugly and unfitting from my body, but I don’t complain much. Do I get frustrated? Yes, but I roll with it. I’m not going to make a revolution alone.

8. You don’t receive suggestions from your friends and family to join Weight Watchers or any other weight-loss program.

I get suggestions to join culinary school or get a master on History. Do you think I get insulted by it? If you don’t want to do it, don’t do it. But if people do make you those suggestions maybe it’s because they’re worried you’ll not live for very long. But, no don’t worry, the worry is bad. Worry is bad because it’s a privilege to be worried about someone who’s fat and ruining their own life.

9. When you go to the doctor, they don’t suspect diabetes (or high blood pressure, high cholesterol, or other “weight-related” diagnoses) as the first/most likely diagnosis.

Actually, I do because diabetes runs in my family.

But that aside, maybe you do it for a reason that is not a privilege but lack of care. But who knows, I’m thin. I don’t get those illnesses, am I right?

10. You don’t get told, “You have such a pretty/handsome face” (implying: if only you’d lose weight you could be even more attractive).

No, I do. People like to imply that if I dressed in a more feminine way I would be prettier so, kindly, fuck off.

11. People do not assume that you are lazy, based solely on your size.

People assume I’m lazy because I don’t walk fast.

But, so far, this is the only valid point the whole list.

12. You’re not the brunt of jokes for countless numbers of comedians.

I’ve talked about this too many times, but jokes are a way to cope with things. Deal with it the fact that a lot of people cope with difficult situations by laughing at them.

13. Airlines won’t charge you extra to fly.

Because I may or may not affect the weight of the flight and risking people lives in the process? Yeah, I don’t. But I do get charged extra if I do that with my luggage.

14. You are not perceived as looking sloppy or unprofessional based on your size.

We have two valid points! We’re on a roll, man!

15. You can eat what you want, when you want in public and not have others judge you for it or make assumptions about your eating habits.

I don’t know what others think, but they probably do. They probably think I eat too much and I’ll get fat, or that I don’t eat enough or that I shouldn’t eat that. Or maybe they don’t give a crap. I don’t know, I’m not in other people’s heads.

16. You can walk out of a gas station with a box of doughnuts and not have people yell at you to “Lay off them doughnuts, fatty!” (This actually happened to one of my friends.)

This actually happened to one of my friends is your argument? Okay.

My grandmother tells me to eat more, surely she cannot see her privilege!

17. People don’t ask your partners what it’s like to have sex with you because of your size.

You know why people ask that? Because curiosity is a thing. I’m sorry if you’re insulted by it, but yeah, people like to know how things that they never did are like.
I do admit this can be hurtful if asked incorrectly, but damnit, you get insulted with very little thing, writer.

18. Your body type isn’t sexually fetishized.

Yes, it is.

I’m a South European for God’s sake.

19. You’re more likely to get a raise or promotion at work than someone who is fat.

CITATION NEEDED.

And no, I don’t mean a link to a book I cannot read.

20. Friends don’t describe you to others using a qualifier (e.g. “He’s kind of heavy, but REALLY nice, though”).

You are looking for things to get insulted at, aren’t you?

21. The media doesn’t describe your body shape as part of an “epidemic”.

Yes. It’s okay. Go on. Make Wall-E a reality.

22. You can choose to not be preoccupied with your size and shape because you have other priorities, and you won’t be judged.

6h6crjm

 

And guess what? The author is a thin white woman who claims to speak for fat people.

v8xq-tse
For her twitter, @sridway1980

 

The irony is too big, I need my bucket.

Top_kek_solaire.png

 

PS: don’t be mean to the lady, I bet she’s just to make a living.

 

Leave a Reply

